Search This Blog

Saturday, November 26, 2011

The Future of Kyoto Protocol?

Uploaded by VOAvideo on 24 Nov 2011 : The Kyoto Protocol sets binding reduction targets on greenhouse gas emissions, such as carbon dioxide, but it expires next year. That's why reaching a new agreement is a top priority for diplomats attending the annual United Nations-sponsored climate talks in Durban, South Africa beginning Monday. VOA's Suzanne Presto has more. 

The Science of Climate Change

Uploaded by VOAvideo on 24 Nov 2011 : Climate negotiators are meeting in Durban, South Africa beginning Monday (November 28-December 9) to discuss the planet's changing climate. 

VOA's Suzanne Presto in Washington tells us about the science of climate change. 

Tuesday, November 15, 2011


Reinventing the Leaf: Future Sources of Fuel

 Nate Lewis, George L. Argyros Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology Compass Summit, a forum for true interaction and exchange, examines some of today's most pressing problems through the lens of global citizenship, recognizing that human ingenuity is an unlimited resource. Guided by NPR's Ira Flatow, an intimate group of some of the of the world's best thinkers and doers convened along the rugged Palos Verdes coastline on Oct 23-26, 2011 at Terranea Resort to engage in meaningful conversation, ask questions, and challenge ideas -- we invite you to join in the conversation. 

Dr. Nathan Lewis, Professor of Chemistry, at the California Institute of Technology since 1991 is serving as Principal Investigator for the Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, the DOE's Energy Innovation Hub in Fuels from Sunlight, and, the Beckman Institute Molecular Materials Resource Center. 

 Dr. Lewis received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has published over 300 papers, is Editor-in-Chief of Energy and Environmental Science, and has supervised over 60 graduate students and postdoctoral associates. His awards include the Princeton Environmental Award and Michael Faraday Medal of the Royal Society of Electrochemistry.